BETA-Protect Local Collaborators

The BETA-Protect co-investigators work closely with a wide network of local collaborators to deliver the aims and objectives of the research programme:



Prof James Shaw: Regenerative medicine and diabetes


Dr Craig Taylor: Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics

Dr Rebecca Brais: Histopathology

Dr Elisa Laurenti: Haematopoietic stem cells

Dr Menna Clatworthy: Immunophenotyping

Dr Fotis Sampaziotis: iPSC derived cell therapies 

Dr Francesco Colucci: NK cell cytotoxicity 


Prof Steve Sacks: Innate immunity

Prof Tony Dorling: Innate immunity

Dr Peter Jones: Endocrine biology

Dr Richard Smith: Protein therapeutics


Prof Sue Fuggle: Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics

Dr Joanna Hester: Alloimmunity


Dr Maria Lima: Molecular biology

Dr Hilary Doherty: Molecular biology

Dr Laura Ferguson: Stem cell biology


Dr Shareen Forbes: Diabetes